One of the more important assets any independent artist can have is business knowledge.
The idea that an artist in today’s age can be successful without having a fundamental understanding of not only the business of music but also how to market their music is ridiculous.
But don’t worry, I’ve got your back!
In order to lay this marketing foundation, I’ve compiled a collection of digital terms and definitions with which you need to be familiar.
In fact, I landed on 23 Must Know Digital Marketing Terms and Definitions, which I’ve condensed into a simple PDF workbook.
A catchall term for online work that includes specialized marketing practices like SEO, PPC, web design, blogging, content, and any other form of advertising on an internet-connected device with a screen.
Traditionally, television was not considered digital marketing, however, the shift from cable television to internet streaming means that digital advertising can now be served to online TV viewers.
CONTENT / CREATIVE
Any form of online media that can be read, watched or interacted with.
Content commonly refers specifically to written material, such as ad copy.
Creative typically refers to images and videos used for online advertising.
A series of advertising messages that share a common theme and market a product or service.
In the context of digital marketing, campaigns can be run through search and display network advertising platforms (i.e. Google, Bing), social media (i.e. Facebook, Instagram), email, or other online platforms.
A particular group at which an advertising campaign is aimed to deliver.
For example, you may set up a campaign to deliver to a target audience of people who like Hip Hop music, or specific artists that you share artistic qualities.
This term is used to define the number of times an advertisement appears to its target audience.
An impression could also be related to a website and the number of times the web page appear in total.
For example, 1 person could view a single ad 5 times, amounting to 5 impressions. While 2 people could view a single ad 5 times each, amounting to 10 impressions.
CALL TO ACTION
A Call To Action (CTA) is an element on a web page used to push visitors towards a specific action or conversion.
A CTA can be a clickable button with text, an image, or simply text, and typically uses an imperative verb phrase like: “Listen to My Single” or “View My Video”.
This is a specific page on your website optimized to be used as a point-of-entry.
For example, you may set up a landing page dedicated to your recent album release. Paid advertising campaigns that link to this page would be optimized to reach target audiences who would likely be interested in the album.
A landing page should always have a clearly identifiable Call To Action (CTA).
When a visitor takes the desired action while visiting your website, it is referred to as a conversion.
This can be a purchase, membership signup, download or registration for your newsletter.
CLICK THROUGH RATE
A metric showing how often people click on an ad after they see it, calculated by dividing the number of clicks on the ad divided by the number of impressions (how many times it was seen).
This ratio can be useful when determining whether an ad’s messaging matches what the consumer is searching for and if it resonates with them.
The higher the CTR percentage, the better your ad has performed.
COST PER CLICK
Cost Per Click (CPC) is the amount of advertising dollars spent in order to generate a single click.
For example, if you spend $100 on advertising and obtain 200 clicks, your CPC is $0.50.
COST PER ACQUISITION
Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) is the amount of advertising dollars spent in order to acquire a new customer.
For example, if you spend $400 on an advertisement and have 100 people buy your album, your CPA is $4.
In other words, it cost you $4 to obtain 1 customer.
RETURN ON INVESTMENT
Return On Investment (ROI) is the amount of NET profit divided by the cost of investment times 1,000.
For example, you spend $2 to produce a CD which you sell for $12. If your CPA is $4 per CD, let’s do the math to figure out your ROI:
$12 (Sale Price) – $2 (Cost of CD) – $4 (CPA) = $6 (Net Profit)
$6 (Net Profit) / $6 (Cost of CD + CPA) x 1000 = 100% ROI
ORGANIC WEBSITE TRAFFIC
A source of traffic to your website that comes through clicking on a non-paid search engine result.
It’s sometimes referred to as “Free” traffic.
Organic traffic can also be the result of somebody typing your website URL directly into a browser, clicking a link from another website, etc.
Organic traffic is the best type of traffic!
PAID WEBSITE TRAFFIC
This type of traffic to your website originates from somebody clicking on an advertisement through Google AdWords, Facebook Advertising, etc.
Paid traffic also encompasses any form of paid advertisement that directly points to your website.
This is the best way to get large amounts of traffic to your website, so it’s important to maximize your efforts with proper targeting and optimization.
SEARCH ENGINE OPTIMIZATION
Search Engine Optimization (SEO) is a technique used to optimize a website so that it will rank higher organically on a search engine’s results page (SERP).
The higher your website’s ranking, typically the more traffic it will generate.
SEARCH ENGINE MARKETING
Search Engine Marketing (SEM) is the process of gaining website traffic by purchasing ads on search engines.
Google AdWords is the most popular platform for SEM.
The most common ad types used in SEM are Pay Per Click (PPC) and Display.
A sequence of bidding on keyword terms is used, that when searched, results in your ad being displayed to somebody on Google or Bing.
SEARCH ENGINE RESULTS PAGE
Search Engine Results Page (SERP) is the list of results provided by a search engine after a search is made.
Your ranking is determined by your keyword bidding strategies. If you’re willing to pay the highest amount for a particular search term, then your ad will display in the first position on the first page.
A Google platform that allows you to collect statistics and data about your website visitors.
Google Analytics (sometimes abbreviated as GA) allows webmasters to see where web traffic comes from and how visitors behave once on the site.
Facebook allows advertisers to reach its users through their ad network.
A range of ad types can be created to reach your campaign objectives (i.e image, video, and carousel ads).
Facebook advertising is unique in that audiences are set up based on vast demographic information that Facebook has about their users, as compared to Google advertising that uses keywords.
FACEBOOK ADS MANAGER
Ads Manager is a tool for creating Facebook ads, managing when and where they’ll run, and tracking how well campaigns are performing on Facebook, Instagram or their Audience Network.
Facebook is one of the most affordable and logical ways to market your music.
FACEBOOK BUSINESS MANAGER
A Facebook platform that allows marketers to manage multiple pages and ad accounts in one central location.
When properly set up, this is the central hub for managing your Facebook page and Facebook advertising.
A collection of email addresses that can be used to send targeted email marketing campaigns.
Lists are typically segmented by user classification so a list of existing customers can receive one type of communication, while potential customers can receive more promotional communication.
There is nothing more valuable to you as an artist then your ‘list’. These are the fans who are most likely to support you, buy your products and come to your shows!
A marketing system that uses software to automatically send emails based on defined triggers.
Multiple automated emails in a sequence are used to create user funnels and segment users based on behavior.
For example, an automation funnel could be set to send “email 1” when a person provides their email address, then either “email 2a or 2b” would be sent based on whether or not the person clicked on the first email.